Photo of the Week: “Ms. Baldwin, that’s totally normal.”

On my morning commute, the most interesting and quickest way out of my neighborhood involves driving through the narrow alleys and through the market.  Going this route, I pass a butcher’s stall, which usually has assorted cuts of meat displayed on the metal table.  On the ground behind the table are the bones, sometimes a pile of femurs, fibula and tibula but recently, and most spectacularly, the entire ribcage of a cow, which my inner Georgia O’Keeffe had to photograph immediately.  My seventh grade students naturally thought I was loony (they make me feel old, too) by assuring me that this was totally normal and demanding why anyone would take a picture.  Well, student, this is why:

Leave a Reply

